Posted by: fathersez | January 9, 2008

The 134th Carnival of Personal Finance – Building on the basics Edition

The indefatigable Mrs. Micah has hosted the 134th Edition of the CoPF, which also has the singular distinction of being the 1st CoPF for 2008. 

I tried but have failed to think of an introduction better than the words Mrs. M has crafted. I have to quote her here.

Quote

“There are two basic rules of to get ahead financially:Spend less.Earn more.The rest is details. And the details are very important. We have to figure out how, in our unique financial and life situations, we’re going to spend less and/or earn more. Personal finance blogging is part of that quest to figure it out.                                                                         Unquote 

Quite a bit of these details are given in the posts that make up this CoPF. Some of the posts that immediately grabbed my fancy are :- 

a)    The Clever Dude’s story on rehabilitating our finances. He compares this to his own current experiences rehabilitating from some back problems.  

 b)    Patrick of Cash Money Life puts forth a compelling argument that our greatest asset is actually an intangible. It’s our ability to generate income. Let’s not overlook this.

c)     Almost an entire reference library on the good, the bad and the ugly of credit cards. The contributors being:   

– Funny about Money’s “Are credit cards good for you?”, 

– My Dollar Plan’s no less than 25 reasons to love credit cards, 

 – Debt Free Revolution’s plea for us to know that credit card companies separate us from our money 

– Being Frugal’s dire warning that credit card companies want to eat us alive,  (Incidentally, Being Frugal has just decided to shred, pound, cut up and otherwise mutilate her credit card….check out the complete details with pictures and all.) 

– Finance and Fat’s self reminder on why another credit card is not wanted. 

Me vs Debt has some of the good of CCs, with important caveats. 

The Amateurist Finance Journey tackles another credit card dilemma. 

And two other posts that I think should merit mentions. Brip Blap’s suggestions on how to talk to a teenager about personal finance. As the father of 5 children, this is the type of advise I search for. 

The Honest Dollar has written a nice piece in defense of PF bloggers. To the some of us who read the PF blogs and come away with an opinion that the PF Bloggers have no life, other than counting the pennies and worrying ourselves sick about retirement, this is a must-read. 

At this rate, I might end up repeating Mrs. M. Though there are a number of other posts that I’ll be reading and taking notes from, I’ll stop here for now. 

Please take some time and hop over to the Carnival. The time will be well spent!

Responses

  1. I’m glad you liked my approach! I was sitting around thinking about themes and suddenly the simplicity of it all came to me. 🙂

  2. Hello fathersez,

    Thank you for he kind words regarding my article. 🙂

  3. Thanks for mentioning my article. More and more I’ve realized that I probably won’t change the minds of those people who think we’re all just Excel dorks. But I hope the article is still useful for the PF blogger who might be getting discouraged for whatever reason.

  4. Thanks for mentioning my article!

  5. Thanks for the mention! You picked out some good posts!

  6. Thanks for the highlight!

  7. Thanks for including my article, it was about student loan consolidation, but I guess the principles are the same. 🙂

  8. Hi, ladies and guys,

    You are most welcome.

    When you write stuff like what you posted in your respective articles, this kind of reaction is inevitable.

    Thank you for dropping by.

  9. Fathersez, this is the first time I’ve been to your site. That header shot is amazing! Please tell me thats a view from your home 😉 Thanks for taking the time to read my post – I still haven’t gotten through the whole list!

  10. Amanda,

    You are welcome.

    Unfortunately the view is not from my house…sigh.

    It is a free theme from the WP collection.

    Please make your self at home and look around.

    Regards

  11. Thanks for the mention… and thanks for chiming in during the debate.

  12. Madison@My Dollar Plan,

    You are most welcome.

    And the debate was most informative. Both Ana and you came up with some great pros and cons.

    Cheers


Leave a Reply

Categories

