Posted by: fathersez | January 10, 2008

What I want most in life or What I want said as my eulogy

Many self improvement blogs, books and gurus, suggest that we should follow our passions. And the suggestions on finding what our passions are range from: 

         what would we do if money was no object, to 

         what would we want people to say about us when we are dead and gone.

Lynnae at Being Frugal has written a poignant post, “what I want most of all”. Stripping aside all the frills, she has articulated the one thing that she would want most of all. 

And she had found it in her book of Guidance. 

She is blessed in that she has with pin point focus identified what she wants most of all. This is important, as it will influence and guide everything else that she does. In fact, it could well be the cardinal rule against which all other issues will be judged. 

Whatever our plans are in life, be it savings for retirement, writing a book or running for political office, it will all be dictated by what we really, really want in life.  

How we earn our money, how we conduct our affairs and how we raise our families will all be dictated or at least be terribly influenced by what we really, really want in life. 

I, too, have thought deeply about what I want in my life. Though I was not able to bring it to focus as sharply as Lynnae did, my findings are also from my book of Guidance. 

As the concluding paragraph of my personal mission statement, I have written that when I pass on, I want to leave behind:- 

a)    Pious, value driven, balanced and confident children, 

b)    People who have benefited from my assistance, and  

c)     People who have benefited from my knowledge and teachings.  

These shall be the cardinal rules against which all other things I do have to be judged against. 

Paid Twice speaks about why keeping an eye on her long range goals is good. It’ll help smoothen out the little short term bumps and setbacks that happen as we progress on our way to meet the long term goals.  

And I have the above listed 3 things as my ultimate long term goals. And my eye shall always be on them.

Responses

  1. I think you are well on your way to reaching your ultimate goals. 🙂

  2. Thanks, Lynnae.

    Your penning of your thoughts inspired this article.

    Take care

  3. Those sound like excellent life goals. I would like to be remembered similarly.

  4. Thank you, Mrs. M.

    I think for many of us, when we strip off the frills, our ultimate goals may not have the word $ in them.

    Thank you for your comment.

    (PS: I am still wrestling with my new blog design, and I hope there are no needless pop ups hindering the commenting…)

  5. Well said. I guess my dad shares that value too. and i think if i may add for the first goal as it reflects me in a way, is to first be one yourself. That way you become the perfect example and somewhat they will follow somehow even if early on they could be very rebellious (im a living example :P). I guess dads are just trying to raise us childrens the way they knew best, how wrong or bad it maybe its just what they knew best :). hope you achieve them smoothly.

  6. Great Post! Thanks for inspiring me. I really enjoy the content of your blog.

  7. Qusyairi,

    Thank you for your comment. You are right, all dads want the best for their children. They do not want them to repeat the mistakes they have made.

    The children, on the other hand, want to find out for themselves. Like you said, they rebel.

  8. Jessica,

    You have said a very very nice thing.
    Thank you so much for making my day.

    You go on and have a great day, week, month, year, and life.

    Please drop by often. You will always be welcome.

  9. Great post! The challenge is sometime to know what do one really wants. For me, I find that it changes according to time and situation. May be a have not asked myself deeply enough. But then, just when I thought i knew already, circumstances changed and they are no longer relevant for that particular time.

    Anyway, keep up with the master pieces….


Leave a Reply

Categories

